Visa and other formalities


This information is a summary of that available from the French, Swiss and Iranian embassies. Please refer to their websites for any and all modifications to their guidelines and for any other types of visas (work, business, transit, student, press)


Tourist Visas obtainable from respective Embassies


Travelers not in possession of an Iranian passport must obtain a visa from the Iranian embassy. In order to obtain a visa, you must first acquire a visa authorization number form the Iranian Ministry of Foreign Affairs following an either an invitation from an Iranian resident or an Iranian travel agency. The visa can take from one to three weeks to be issued and remains valid for 3 months. It permits a 30-day stay, however, it can be extended once arrived in Iran.


Documents necessary for obtaining a visa:


Passport with a validity of more than 6 months past the expected date of return;


Visa application, duly completed and signed, indicating the address during the stay in Iran, either with friends/family or mentioning the travel agent responsible for the trip ( download the application form: click here);


2 recent passport photos, 3x4 cm, on a white background;


Declaration of any current illness / accident insurance policy;


Visa fee – variable depending on nationality (for further information: click here for Switzerland and here for France);


Fingerprints, either taken directly at the Iranian embassy or at a major Swiss police station;



Note: passports should not be stamped with an Israeli visa and American passport holders are only permitted to travel to Iran on organized tours or with an Iranian travel guide who is registered with the Ministry of Iran.


For our clients: we organize all visas. Please supply the following documents: passport, completed application form, 2 passport photographs, insurance declaration, and fingerprints.





It is possible to obtain a 15-day visa on arrival in Iran at the following airports:


IKA: Tehran Imam Khomeini Airport

MHD: Mashhad Airport

SYZ: Shiraz Airport

TBZ: Tabriz Airport

ISF: Isfahan Airport


This can take between 20 minutes and one hour, depending on the amount of people arriving at that time. Please note that only nationals of the following countries can obtain this type of visa:


Albania - Armenia - Australia - Austria - Azerbaijan - Bahrain - Belarus - Belgium - Bosnia and Herzegovina - Brazil - Brunei - Bulgaria - China - Cyprus - North Korea - South Korea - Croatia - Cuba - Denmark - United Arab Emirates Georgia - Greece - Hungary - India - Indonesia - Ireland - Italy - Japan - Kazakhstan - Kyrgyzstan - Kuwait - Lebanon - Luxembourg - Macedonia - Malaysia - Mexico - Mongolia - Norway - New Zealand - Oman - Uzbekistan - Palestine - Peru - Philippines - Poland - Portugal - Qatar - Russian Federation - Singapore - Slovakia - Slovenia - Sweden - Switzerland - Syria - Tajikistan - Thailand - Turkmenistan - Ukraine - Venezuela - Vietnam

Facebook – Twitter – Instagramm - Linkedin